Aeroforce Technology Inc Technical Forums

"Knowledge is power"

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ALDL / OBD1
PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 6:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 6:32 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Fort Campbell
I have an 89 Geo Spectrum I have rebuilt from the ground up after my son blew up the engine from never adding oil. I get 37 mpg and want to add gauges to make sure everything stays in normal ranges. This sounds like it will work as it is pre-OBD2 and will seriously reduce the number of gauges. I want to monitor oil temp, oil press, O2, amps, volts, vaccum, and coolant temp even though it has a temp gauge on the pod. Will the Analogin be able to do this? Can I piggyback off of the current sensors in place and add as needed (like vacuum, not factory monitored) or do I have to install all new sensors? I would rather spend $200-$300 now in instrumentation now and save the $1,000 engine rebuild cost again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ALDL / OBD1
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:02 pm
Posts: 4673
Location: Avon, OH
armyhelopilot wrote:
I have an 89 Geo Spectrum I have rebuilt from the ground up after my son blew up the engine from never adding oil. I get 37 mpg and want to add gauges to make sure everything stays in normal ranges. This sounds like it will work as it is pre-OBD2 and will seriously reduce the number of gauges. I want to monitor oil temp, oil press, O2, amps, volts, vaccum, and coolant temp even though it has a temp gauge on the pod. Will the Analogin be able to do this? Can I piggyback off of the current sensors in place and add as needed (like vacuum, not factory monitored) or do I have to install all new sensors? I would rather spend $200-$300 now in instrumentation now and save the $1,000 engine rebuild cost again.


Hello,

This sensor has four 0-5v inputs, so you wouldn't be able to connect everything you mentioned. I'd recommend adding separate sensors for some of these things, like coolant temp. You'd have to scale back the voltage level, the input is only good to 5v. Amps, not sure unless you purchased a current transducer - this is not a common parameter to monitor any more. Oil temp and pressure would be simple using our sensor kits.

Todd

_________________
Aeroforce Technology


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt